3 Non-Hair Flat Iron Tips | Designing

Hi guys,  I designed this pink lace top a few weeks ago and have been meaning to post its correlating diy video, that features a few of my quick designing tips.  So hereeeeee are 3 of my favorite non-hair uses for a hair flat iron 🙂

Quick Tip #1:  Flat irons are a great tool for ironing out your hems & seams after sewing.  A flat iron with customized temperatures allows you to lower the temperature for ironing more delicate fabrics.

Quick Tip #2:  When traveling, hair flat irons make great clothing irons .  How many times have we opened our suitcases to find our pressed clothes wrinkled again!?  Flat irons are compact, and get the clothing wrinkles out STAT style.

Quick Tip #3:  Crush velvet with a flat iron by accordion folding the area of fabric you want crushed, and then iron the accordion folds with your flat iron.  Voila, crushed velvet!

When it comes to designing, traveling (& my hair), I cannot go without a flat iron! For you home & lifestyle lovers out there here is another DIY tip!  The wicker chair in the photo below had seen better days.  It was severely peeled and frayed on every foot of the chair.  I like the look of frayed wood, however, this was the pokey kind of fraying and I have little dogs.  To better conceal the fraying wood, I recycled khaki jeans and cut off four strips of the khaki, & then tied each strip as a bow on the chair’s bottom legs.  She’s as good as new now!  I absolutely love filming my YouTube videos from that chair!  Hope you guys find my designing tips useful, my loves!  Have a great rest of the week!  XO ~Kelle

 

IMG_0775
Pink Lace Top | Kelley Nicole Collection
IMG_0740
Hems of this delicate lace top design were easily ironed out with a hair flat iron. XO
Leave a Reply

