L.A. Colors: I <3 Makeup: Eyes [MATTE]R Palette! (25 matte shades!)

img_0756-2
LA Colors I ❤ Makeup Eyes [MATTE]R Palette | 25 matte shades!
SO, over the weekend I stumbled upon this $4.99 L.A. Colors Eyes [MATTE]R palette!  This is one of the biggest all matte palettes I have ever seen at the drugstore.  I still cannot believe that it comes with 25 matte shades for only $4.99!  The matte formula palette looks nothing like the $1 three-pan metallic (and uber-pigmented) palettes from LA Colors.  If you want to see the richly pigmented metallic formula I am referring to, click here for the LA Color swatches in one of my past videos.  However, these mattes do look similar to the matte shades in the small $1 six-pan LA Colors Bold eyes palettes, that I hauled and reviewed last month.  I also love those palettes!  Click here to see Bold Eye palette swatches in action. There is literally nothing to be found online about this mystery I ❤ Makeup Eyes [MATTE]R palette.  Zilch reviews.  Zero online retailers (not listed on the LA Colors website either). NADA a whole lotta I could find, which makes me wonder if this is just a holiday exclusive. That all said, I will be as detailed as possible for you guys with my review.

img_0959-2
Smokey eyed look created with L.A. Colors I ❤ Makeup all matte palette

Before we get into the nitty-gritty, let’s go over the cute I ❤ Makeup packaging.  ADORABLE.

img_0783
LA Colors I ❤ Makeup Palette packaging is adorable!

The case is convenient because it is plastic with snap closure. However, the plastic is on the cheaper, flimsier side. No biggie though, as it beats cheap cardboard. Inside, you do get a mirror & the plastic tray that the shadows are glued into is removable.  This tray could easily be pulled out when you use up all of the shades.  In which case, you could easily recycle it into a z-palette.  Also included is a double-sided brush with a sponge tip applicator on one end, and a small (like it could be a lip brush kinda small), synthetic concealer type brush on the other end.

img_0795
Included in the I ❤ Makeup all matte palette, is a doubled ended brush.

A tiny concealer brush for mattes?  Random. Is that supposed to be the smudger? I’ve never smudged with a concealer brush, but who knows, maybe it will work! Ha!  On the back of the palette is a how-to makeup instruction guide, which is great if you are just beginning with makeup.

img_0774-2
On the back of the palette is a how-to makeup guide. Great palette for beginners!

In terms of the palette height and width dimensions, it is about 1 inch wider & 1 inch taller than a UD Naked palette.  This is a very sleek & thin palette as well (slightly thinner than a Naked palette).  4 of the 25 shades in this all matte palette are labeled “Define” and “Base” shades,

img_0809-3
4 of the 25 shades are labeled as “Define” and “Base” shades.  The 2 darker shades in this group are also great for brows. 

with pan sizes nearly twice the size of the rest of the shades.  The color selection in this palette is absolutely PERFECT and complimentary to all skin tones.  It comes with an array of neutrals & dark shades in both warm & cool tones.  With plenty of transition shades & a few pops of color to choose from, you can create any look with this palette (without the use of shimmers that is ;). Re: the formula, I am always hesitant of matte eye shades in uber-cheap palettes, as they can sometimes be chalky or lacking pigmentation. But to the touch, these shadows feel very silky and smooth, surprisingly enough.  There were a few chalky shades that required a fudging off of the chalky overspray layer, but once removed they worked out fine. Impressively, there is no fallout.

img_0851
Swatches (without a primer) of the 15 pan shadow section of the LA Colors I ❤ Makeup Eyes [MATTE]R palette
There are a couple of shades in this palette that apply like a satin matte (i.e. the white/cream shade, far left swatch, in the below photo of 6 swatched shades), which I LOVE.  The satin matte shades in this palette are stunning for the brow bone.  As you can see in the swatches, the darker shades are a dreammmm!! img_0814-2When swatched, a few of the lightest shades are definitely the weakest, in terms of pigmentation.  But when used with a primer, they are great base/blending shades. Otherwise, without a primer, the lighter shades just blend to nothing.  The weakest color in this palette is, by far, the deep purple shade (2nd to last swatch on my arm, and the 2nd to last pan shade in bottom row (below arm).  It just did not want to swatch AT ALL.  But when swatched on a primer, it swatches much better and blends easily.  Further, it applies more like a grey purple, rather than the deep purple in the pan (but works out great because I prefer purples with grey undertones).  The darker shades in this palette are soooo amazingly pigmented!!! All of the shades blend amazing. img_0748If I had to compare this palette to another, I would say the silky smooth, no-fallout formula reminds me a lot of ELF’s Mad For Mat te palette.  With the LA Colors matte palette, you do get more than double the amount of shades than the ELF palette, & for half the price!  If I I had to narrow down my fave shades it would be the brick, the grey/black, the taupes, light bluish grey, & the light yellow shades.  LOVE them!!! In the smokey eye look I created with this palette using the light yellow, teal, & grey/black shades, I also used a mixture of the two darker “Define” shades for my brows.  The darker “Define” shades could not be more purrrrrrfect for brows! For $5 and some change, this palette is brilliant!  img_0734I am SO sorry that this palette is a complete online MYSTERY!!! Hopefully you can find it in the holiday makeup section of your nearest Rite Aide (where I found mine). Another place to check might be the Dollar Tree, as they tend to carry a lot from the LA Colors line.  It would be amazing if they came out more palettes like this one!! A metallic one would be rad!!!!!  I hope you guys enjoyed this review!  If you do go on the hunt for this palette, please let me know if you find it!  I’ll keep my eyes peeled for you!!! Have a beautiful week! ❤ ❤ ~Kelle

img_1076
L.A. Colors I ❤ Makeup Eyes [MATTE]R palette | Model: Kelley Whilden
4 thoughts on “L.A. Colors: I <3 Makeup: Eyes [MATTE]R Palette! (25 matte shades!)

  1. Thank you for your review. I found this pallet at Family Dollar for 2.50. Love the colors and wanted to know how to use the base and the define colors. The metallic dark blue makes a great waterline cover.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi dear! Hope you are enjoying your palette! I like to use the base colors as the first shades to lay down on the eye. The define shades are great for doing soft eyeliner looks. Eyeliner with eyeshadow always looks really natural & pretty 💖💖💖🦋🦋🦋

    Like

Leave a Reply

